• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

1st Shore Tour plus one year obliserve

Bluefious

Unfortunately I think I already know the answer to this:
I'm a helo pilot rolling into my first shore tour (orders unknown) with 16 YOS and no intent on pursuing DH career path for my community. Following shore orders will have a little less than one year remaining obliserve. Will be at 20 years so weighing retirement vs. SLERES etc.. What fate might await me for that last year and any ideas how to avoid getting into a bad situation? Anyone seen this? Thanks!

usmarinemike

Solidly part of the 42%.
pilot
Contributor
Tell your detailer/monitor/front office that you haven't decided yet whether you want to get out at 20. I wouldn't have the heart to take a billet that is important to the climbers, but at least you might get one that you don't hate. Tracom comes to mind, personally. I'm a tour behind you on about the same trajectory, and I've thought about this, too. I refuse to be the OIC of the station wood shop, which I imagine is what happens to a guy who is DIFOP and only has a year on station.

Does the Navy have 12-18 month shore tours available (like the Marine Corps has EWS/FAC)?

survival-motivational-poster-fox-with-hounds-when-1.jpg

Gatordev

pilot
Site Admin
Contributor
Unfortunately I think I already know the answer to this:
I'm a helo pilot rolling into my first shore tour (orders unknown) with 16 YOS and no intent on pursuing DH career path for my community. Following shore orders will have a little less than one year remaining obliserve. Will be at 20 years so weighing retirement vs. SLERES etc.. What fate might await me for that last year and any ideas how to avoid getting into a bad situation? Anyone seen this? Thanks!