• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Age waivers for Marines

deloachth

Tank god
So I got the letter from MCRC responding to my application for an aviation guarantee and it said no way.

Currently I am a MECEP student at Embry Riddle. I got everything taken care of for my application to MCRC and sent it up. I was fully qualified medically, I have a high GPA, I scored a 9/9/9 on the ASTB, but I will commission in May of 2012; and at that time I will be 32 years old. (10/18/80)

The letter from MCRC said that my age waiver was disapproved. I was wondering if there is any hope for a different response at a later time--it's not like my date for commissioning is gonna change. Or maybe still hope to get a slot at TBS? I would very much like to be an NA, and I won't give up too easily.

What's the oldest that somebody's heard of a Marine becoming an aviator?

phrogdriver

More humble than you would understand
pilot
Super Moderator
I've seen a prior SSgt (went CH-46s) and a prior GySgt (went AV-8Bs) become aviators. I don't know their ages when they got commssioned, but they had to be pushing it at those ranks. If I talk with them I'll let you know. How long have you been in the Corps?

Yankee Uniform Tango
Unfortunately NA age waivers are not being approved at this time; this might change in a few months, but there are no guarantees.

NFO age waivers are still good to go.

SWACQ

pilot
Contributor
Why would they accept an age waiver when they have qualified candidates that don't need a waiver? Like it or not we are about to start drawing down from 202k and they have no reason to approve waivers.

deloachth

Tank god
I joined November of 2001.