• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Army Class 3 flight phsyical waiver???

MrFreakinKite

I'm currently a freshman in college, and my lifelong dream (since I was like 5) was to be a naval aviator. I'm currently a freshman in college, and I've been working with the local OSO to see if I could do it in the Marine Corps. My eyesight is horrible, and I knew that I had to get PRK... I went to MEPS last Thursday, and found out that my eyesight is SO horrible that I can't even qualify even if I get PRK (-8.25 diopters in my right eye). The lady at the OSO office kind of laughed at me when I said I wanted to be a pilot....

So after being bummed for a few hours, I said "Fuggit, I'll go enlist and fly UAVs in the Army after I finish this semester." I've been in the process of doing all of that, and I found out through some research that I need to pass a class 3 flight physical to be able to fly UAVs.... which has something like a no more than 3 diopters of astigmatism (which I'm pretty sure I'm over).

Does anybody out there know if they give waivers for that kind of shit in the Army? If not, whatever, I'll go be a machinist or something, but after about 45 minutes of googling/yahooing I found NOTHING.

I'm currently a freshman in college, and my lifelong dream (since I was like 5) was to be a naval aviator. I'm currently a freshman in college, and I've been working with the local OSO to see if I could do it in the Marine Corps. My eyesight is horrible,

I'll say.. ;)

Sorry, I can't help you. Just nitpicking

Calculon

It's Calculon! Hit the deck!