• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Art Educator Career Switcher Trying To Go OCS

kidd_apache

One Step At A Time. . .
O.k. I'm a high school art teacher and I am preparing for the ASTB so that I can be considered as a candidate for OCS. I have a degree in Graphic Design and prior experience in architectural design, too.

Obviously, I don't have the same academic experience as the Math and Science majors on here, but I'm curious to know what type of chances there are for Liberal Arts majors.

I haven't seen any posts about career switchers or people with Liberal Arts degrees seeking to take the ASTB.

I know that my scores on the test will be the major determining factor--still, I'm curious to know.

P.S. I take the test in August

Morgan81

It's not my lawn. It's OUR lawn.
pilot
Contributor
Plenty of people switch careers, myself included. You're chances are as good as you make them. As far as majors go, that has been covered a million times but I'm in primary right now with plenty of people with BA's in all sorts of liberal arts degrees.

usmarinemike

Solidly part of the 42%.
pilot
Contributor
Two things:

1) As long as your ASTB scores are good, it seriously doesn't matter what your degree is in or where it is from. It is just a check in the box; just as long as you don't intend on getting into the astronaut program later.

2) The ASTB is not the only determining factor. Plenty of weight will hang on your physical fitness, LORs, etc.

Good luck. Never feel like you're less just because of your degree. You'll have plenty of other stuff to make you feel like less of a person at OCS.

FLYTPAY

Pro-Rec Fighter Pilot
pilot
None