• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Basic Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

DPA

I've always dreamed of being a pilot in the NAVY... and until recently I thought that would be impossible due to less than perfect eye sight (20/60 or so). I found out recently that the navy did now allow laser eye surgery. I was wondering what the NAVY's current policy on eye surgey was. Are both lasik and prk acceptable. Can it be done before enlisting? Also... I am currently a college student at Georgia Tech persuing a BS in Management. We have NROTC here and I am considering joining, but was curious if a person has a better chance of becoming a pilot through NROTC or through enlisting after graduation and going to OCS. And finally... roughly what percentage of people who start out wanting to fly jets actually get the chance to (factoring out those who just give up and quit)... I guess what I'm really asking is how often to people get f----d over and can't fly what they really want?

I know this is a lot of questions, but they are all thing I need to know before I persue my dream... Thanks in advance for any help you guys can provide.

KBayDog

DPA - Do yourself a favor and check around the site; every one of your questions has been asked and answered many times before.

VarmintShooter

Bottom of the barrel
pilot
KBayDog said:
VarmintShooter,

"This Post's for You."

AAARRRGGGHHHH!!! (pulling hair out)

Actually I'm just kidding, these questions get asked all the time and are the subject of some small amusement (because of their frequency and inability to be properly answered, not out of malice).

Anyway, try the search function and you'll be on your way ... anything you can't answer from that feel free to ask.