• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Chances of going to Test Pilot School?

HeavyMan

I'm applying to OCS (OCC) and it's been a long-term goal of mine to attend USNTPS (or alternatively USAF TPS). I have a BSc in Aerospace Engineering. I don't intend to sound arrogant or pretentious with this question, and I know I've got a lot of work to do.

1. What are the chances, as a Marine pilot, to attend TPS?
2. What are the preferred requirements to go to TPS? IIRC the minimums are 1000 hrs PIC, >3.0 GPA, and a STEM degree.
3. Is it common to attend TPS as a Field Grade? I've looked at some graduation pics and all the Marine graduates are Majors, with few exceptions such as an LtCol here and there and a Captain once in a million years
4. Is there any relevant difference between fixed and rotary for TPS selection?
5. Are there "non-written" requirements that a pilot should/must have to go to TPS?
6. On average, how many hours does a pilot need to be selected?
7. Do you need a certain number of deployments or particular experiences/tours?

Thanks ;)

MIDNJAC

is clara ship
pilot
3. Is it common to attend TPS as a Field Grade? I've looked at some graduation pics and all the Marine graduates are Majors, with few exceptions such as an LtCol here and there and a Captain once in a million years