• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Diabetes - Waiverable?

RiverDog

Hey everybody!
First off I'm a freshman in college and have been planning on earning a commission in the Marine Corp through the Platoon Leader's Course and have used this site a good bit doing research. Of course like everyone else on here I've always wanted to be a Naval Aviator but it turns out that out of nowhere a few months ago I was diagnosed with type 1 Diabetes. This may be a retarded question to ask but is this in any way waiverable or is there anything at all I can do in the military with this? It's annoying because I'm in pretty good shape and have been pretty active most of my life (I only weigh 150 lbs.), but it's understandable why the military is strict about it. Heck I'll pack MRE's if I have to as long as I can do something for the country. I typed this in the search box and got a bunch of threads about health care, so I firgure this hasn't been posted yet.

Thanks

MasterBates

If you are type 1 and insulin dependent.. I appreciate your motivation, but that is going to be a show stopper.

Friend I winged with came down with diet controlled type 2, and they medically retired him when we were in the RAG.

grt

Hey there,
I figured I'd chime, as I have been living this very issue for 8 years now. Ever since I can remember I've wanted to be a Naval Aviator and I'd give just about anything to make that dream happen. When I was 11 I was diagnosed with Type 1 Insulin Dependent Diabetes and am now 19. I have researched everywhere, talked to Navy recruiters, and called the FAA; no where have I found what I wanted to hear.