• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Do I have a prayer?

Status
Not open for further replies.

eaneal

Hello all. I recently discovered this site and already I know its going to be a very valuable resource.

I have already graduated with a Bachelors of Science in Business Administration and a Computer Information Systems major but have only recently began researching a Navy Aviator career (I was not in the ROTC or anything like that). In fact I have not even seen a recruiter yet - I have an appointment for Monday.

I am having trouble finding a good summary of what it takes to get into OCS. Sure, the requirements are out there, but what are the admissions people really looking for? I graduated with only a 2.984 gpa and did not participate in any extra-curriculars, but might they consider the fact that I was taking care of a family (I am married and have a son) for the last 3 years of school and working full time for the last 2? Is having a couple of years of professional private sector employment going to play a role?

I am SIGNIFICANTLY out of shape (working a desk job that you hate will do that to you) and so I am not expecting to apply anytime soon, but I want to spend this time doing anything possible to improve my chances. In fact, I am seriously considering leaving my 45k/year job for a $7/hr manual labor gig to help get me back into shape (but only with my wife's permission, of course; luckily, she is as excited about this as I am).

Any comments, suggestions, tips, or references to good resources will be greatly appreciated, especially from those who went/are going a similar route as myself. Also, does anyone know how many applications for pilots slots are received versus how many slots are available per year?