• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

EA-6B Prowler Novel

Jaco

Hi, i'm from Italy. I read this forum since a while, although never post anything until now.
Being Military Aviation addicted i found this board very interesting.
I'm a thriller-book author in Italy with three books already published and i'm writing a new one about U.s. Navy aviation. The story is focused in particular about Ea-6b and their deployment in Iraqi freedom operations.
I would be very grateful to anybody who could help me in resolving some technical issue. I know already that some of my questions may be stupid or obvious and some other could be inappropriate and for this reason i apologize in advance.
Also i would be very grateful to anybody who wish to share some particular experience about this wonderful plane.
I'm curious not only about flying issue, but also about the ECMOs Job, although, again, i understand that many related issue could be not releasable and thus not be shared.

So up to now, i've already a major curiosity to ask: I've read on Open sources that some Navy planes has an ACLS who may assist the pilot in manouvering during the final approach to the carrier deck. According to what i've read, this system is capable to land the aircraft itself without any action by the pilot.
So if it's correct and ACLS may autoland, is this system often used nowadays or the "standard Operating procedure" is still the manual approach?

Another issue, this time about ECMOs Job. I've read that a Prowler may fly missions with a crew of only three aviators (Pilot & two ECMOs NFO) is this also right? I mean, in theory it would be possible to operate a prowler with a crew of only three officers?