• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Eye surgery to be a pilot in the US Navy...

Status
Not open for further replies.

psrogers

Intel Officer
Hello Everyone,
I am a prospective officer recruit just beginning to work on the tests and paperwork. I have two quick questions if anyone has a moment to help me out...

1. What kind of eye surgery is acceptable for navy aviation? I hear LASIK Surgery is the best, most reliable kind out there now, but I haven't seen it referred to specifically by name on this site. I'm sure a bunch of you fellas have probably had eye surgery...

2. You might want to kill me for this one...Why choose to be a Navy Aviator instead of an Air Force aviator? Please forgive my inexcusable ignorance and stupidity, but what is making some of you choose one over the other?

Thanks in advance to anyone who responds to this posting.

JTP

PRK is accepted, no LASIK. You might want to ask around on LASEK. That is a more recent and upgraded PRK method. You can find all this info on the NOMI website. I'm not sure of the link, but I'm sure you can find it in the archives fairly easy. I've had the surgery, and I am applying for the waiver in 10 days.

As far as why be a Naval Aviator? That could start a debate in here. That is something you need to look at and decide on your own w/o outside influences.

YEAH COME ON!!

Hartman

psrogers-