• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

F/A-18C crash at RDU I saw it-pics

Status
Not open for further replies.

SemperFitz

Expert in Nameology
quick background, I'm a Marine Aviation Officer Candidate, went to PLC-C last summer. Now that I'm back at school (NC State) I'm back to my job as supervisor of airline operations for a fuel vendor at RDU Airport (Raleigh/Durham International).

On Friday, situation normal, except there are two F/A-18's at our competitors ramp. They are from VFA 15 at Oceana, and getting ready for take-off.

I am at gate A23 watching the take-off...they are taking off Runway 23L. My vantage point is front and center-AC should start roll at my 10 o'clock and lift off at 12 o'clock and depart to my 3 o'clock. First A/C no problems, awesome take-off, good show.

Here is where it gets interesting. I'm watching the second F/A-18 start his roll, full power and I notice a lot of dirt is flying out behind the AC. I'm thinking that he must be close to the runway edge to blow up that kind of dirt. As he keeps rolling, I notice that the AC must have at least one wheel off the runway, then I realize that he is bouncing a LOT...AC appears to be completely off the runway at this point.

Here is my take (keep in mind witness testimony is sketchy and I am in no way guessing as to what occured, I am just giving my viewpoint...what I saw...NTSB and navy are out in full force investigating, I'm sure they will figure it out)