• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Families at flight school

Status
Not open for further replies.

kaiangel

I am currently an Officer Candidate going through the Seaman to Admiral program. I am planning on going to flight school sometime later next year but don't know what to tell my wife about flight school. I know it is demanding, but is it so demanding that you should not bring family? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

SmithS

Not that my opinion matters, but I will be in the same boat as you once I finish OCS. My recruiter has told me that once flight starts, it's like a 9-5 job, except a lot more stressful. He has told me that her and I will be able to live together, but I will have to dedicate myself to training because it will be very intense. I hope this helps a little bit.

webmaster

The Grass is Greener!
pilot
Site Admin
Contributor
Patrick,

First off, congrats on the STA program, enjoy your time going to school, and all the free time you have to spend with your family. I would go back to the easy days of ECP in a heart beat! LOL jk, it is NOT that bad on my first tour!

Anyways, I think that bringing a family with you to flight school is a must. You are never going to be too busy not to be able to spend time with your family. And their absence is just going to add stress to your otherwise overloaded plate. Plus, if anything, spending time with my family and kids during flight school was a definite stress reliever!