• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Getting out...

kdillard21

Not for me...I promise, I am a Helo Pilot anyway. If an F18 NFO wanted to get out of their committment of 6 years for "personal reasons" before time was up, would there be any way to do it? Particularly without being sent to the fleet as a SWO or GENAV? Just wondering if anyone here knew of someone who had, especially since the Navy seems to be doing some major downsizing on both aviation and SWO sides of the house.

Steve Wilkins

Teaching pigs to dance, one pig at a time.
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
Probably depends a lot on 1) how much time they have before hitting MSR and 2) what the personal reasons are. Is this a "I don't want to be in the navy anymore" or a "I don't want to fly anymore" type of situation. If looking to simply get out, then the officer in question would have to submit a request for Release from Active Duty (RAD request) per the MILPERSMAN. The navy can either approve it or deny it. If this person's yeargroup is overmanned and the navy needs to downsize that group, it is entirely possible BUPERS would approve the request....MSR be damned!

kdillard21

thanks for the info, professional advice giver outer. now would this RAD request have to go through the chain of command? I assume it would, but then the person in question would be "marked" by the squadron and make things worse. I am trying to leave out as many details as possible for privacy conerns, but my main question is does the RAD bypass the COC.

SteveG75

Retired and starting that second career
None