• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Going to The Citadel to be a pilot

Knob

First off, I have been trying to find a site with real, quality information on becoming a pilot. and this looks like the place. but anyways, this coming year i am gonna be a freshman at The Citadel. i know im going to get my butt kicked and the whole nine yards. i have heard all the stories but its still gonna be good times and well worth it. i want to be pilot. i would love to fly a fighter jet but im realistic and realize that theres a good chance that i will get a helo which im fine with. i just want to fly. without trying to sound like im bragging, i beleive i have a good start. i graduated high school with a 3.5 GPA and with honors. i am highly motivated and have enormous willpower. im not the most athletic but i have never quit. always been involved with sports, wrestled, center on the varsity football team, ran distance track. now im going to The Citadel which is a really good base for a military career. but i have a few questions

1. I am 5'9, so that makes me tall/short enough for any Navy/Marine aircraft?

2. I have an allergic reaction to any kind of penicillan medication, will this disqualify me?

3. Which would I have a better chance of getting my wings in, Navy or Marines?

3. I have heard that the Navy is severly backlogged with pilots, is this true?

4. What exactly does the Marine Aviation Guarantee mean? How do i get it?

5. My father, who is a purple heart verteran of the Vietnam War as a USMC, does not want me to be a Marine pilot for the sole purpose that if i do wash out of pilot school, I will be sent to Iraq in the infantry. Would the Aviation Guarantee keep me from doing this?