• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Government Travel Credit Card

ElGuapo1775

I'm fairly new to the fleet squadron, and I'm trying to figure out why anyone would want to use the damned Government Travel Credit Card (and apparently everyone is using it). Here's how I figure it's worse than a personal credit card in every way:

1. You're required to pay the full balance when it comes due, regardless of whether you've been reimbursed by DTS. Not so with a personal credit card; you're only obligated to pay the minimum (as stupid as that may be).

2. If you fail to pay your GTCC, your personal credit gets dinged. If you fail to pay your personal credit card your credit gets dinged AND your name appears on a list submitted to a general. To clamp down on delinquent accounts, commanders are tightening the penalties for officers who appear on the thirty-day delinquent list.

3. To avoid issues stemming from #2, many officers are maintaining a positive balance on their cards, generally to the tune of $1000. I used to think the worst place to keep money was under a mattress, but not anymore. Are the days of making money off per diem while on the road over?

Most responses I've gotten refer to the convenience of DTS paying off the card directly. But come on, a $1000 insurance policy for the "convenience" of not having to spend two minutes paying off your personal credit card? And why risk getting your ass handed to you if something causes you to be a day late paying the full balance? Somebody with more experience straighten me out, this is insane. :icon_rage

MasterBates

When I have not been paid in 30 days by DFAS, I tell the admin officer, and she OKs it.

If it was on a personal card, it would be racking up interest.

smittyrunr