• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Grad Work / Delayed Entry

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ironfeliks23

USC- Sr.
I was not picked up for SNA for FY05. My recruiter told me it was a "Reduction in FY05 Pilot Goals" and my letter from the Navy said "...requirements of the Navy...." It is what I want to do for a living, but as Jack Aubrey reminds us, everything is subject to the requirements of the Service. I have competitive stats, and the recruiter told me that if I put in an NFO package right now it would be a darn near shoe in. (for stats see here) However, I have good eyes, and love to fly far more then just being in an aircraft, its what I have always been compelled to do. I am not sure I could sit 3 feet away without going nuts. I did not put in a package with the Corps, though with the recent chatter about them taking some Naval rotorheads, they may have the slots (recruiter said FY05 Navy was 95/95 SNA). I have the same healthy respect and admiration for this branch of the Navy (the pointy end that rides in navy equipment), but dont feel the same as I do for the boys in blue (I would be 3rd gen Naval Officer). Is the bottom line a question of: is harder physical fitness and TBS worth a flight slot? I do, however have the opportunity to use my time before reapplying for several things, and therein lies my questions. I graduate in May 05, but have to make a decision on what I am going to do by October.

1) How early can I put in an application for FY06 or 07, my recruiter mentioned something about waiting 6 months before I can reapply.