• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

How long did you wait for TBS?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Malice 1

pilot
I am curios how long some of you had to wait from your college graduation to the time you went toTBS.

I was in the PLC program. I graduated from college in december, and I won't get commissioned untill 4 june. Then, I get to sit around and wait some more untill I get orders to TBS. No one has any ideas what class I might actually get into.

All my credit card are approaching MAX, and my bills are suffocating me. All the decent paying jobs around here want a 12 month commitment from me. How long did you guys work crap jobs while waiting for your active duty?

Did everyone go through this, or is my OSO office a "high speed low drag" operation?

Reactions: E5B

E5B

Lineholder
pilot
Super Moderator
I feel your pain. Us PLC guys are the bottom of the barrel when it comes for getting picked up for TBS. I commissioned in July and didn't start TBS until the end of Nov (alpha Co). I was lucky and picked up some ADSW orders which allowed me to work at Quantico from Sept-Nov. We were in the same boat financially, so going on Active duty a little early in Sept really helped.

If you're huring for cash, USAA does starter loans for newly commissioned officers. NMA (Navy Mutual Aid) does the same thing. I used them both to pay off a few bills and start some investments (IRA & kids college fund, etc). The NMA works in a life insurance policy into your loan, not a bad deal.

KBayDog