• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

I know you get this question alot but I need an expert opinion

SnoopyBaron

I know you get these questions a lot but anytime I post these questions on a forum all I get is a bunch of high school military pilot dreamers to answer them and i need an actual pilot or expert to answer them.

I am currently a freshman at a community college in Arizona and I have a GPA of 3.5 or so (trying to increase it). After next year I plan to apply and hopefully be accepted to ASU Polytechnics (Aeronautical Management Technology (B.S.) in Professional Flight) my main questions are.

If I ever want to try to become a military aviator, does having a civilian aviation degree increase or decrease my chances? I have heard that if I get civilian pilot training that can make me non-eligible.

I have also heard that Embry Riddle is your best chance for becoming a military aviator but because it is a private school the cost is up there so my next question is.

Is going to an alternate University like ASU a better option? I know you people recommend going to ROTC or one of the military academies but I would like to see if I like flying first and I think a civilian aviation degree is better and that leads to my final question.

Am I in the right state of mind or is going to a military the academy the only real way to become a military aviator. Thank you for your time and help it is well appriciated. :icon_smil

Aslo I am going to try and major in professional flight and not aviation engineering because I find flying very exciting and I would like to do it even if it isnt in the military.

FLYTPAY

Pro-Rec Fighter Pilot
pilot
None