• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Insight on Redesignation to Naval Aviator

Jester013

I need some insight from the the community. Unfortunately I have not come across too many aviators to ask in person.

I graduated and commission a little less than a year ago now. I took a reserve commission in the Strategic Sealift Program in the IRR. I have been sailing with Military Sealift Command as a deck officer since. After about a year, I have been starting to find my job a little mundane. When it comes down to it all I do is follow a line on the chart, and conning the vessel is starting to loose its enjoyability, and I really don't get to conn that much in the places I would enjoy it. Realistically I really only get satisfaction from my job maybe a few days a month. After I promote soon it becomes essentially a paperwork and operations job. However, it pays very well and it lets me travel and take a couple months entirely to myself every year.

I would to do something more challenging and more competitive of an atmosphere. I don't mind taking the cut in pay if it is a job that I know I will be enjoying for years on in. My biggest fear is that I am going to walk away from stable and promising career and interesting lifestyle, and that flying is going to become boring for me too. If anyone can offer some experiences as how they have enjoyed their careers flying for the Navy, it would be appreciated. I really want to fly, but did it get mundane for anyone?

exNavyOffRec

I need some insight from the the community. Unfortunately I have not come across too many aviators to ask in person.