• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

iranian tomcats today

flaps

happy to be here
None
Contributor
http://theboresight.blogspot.com/2009/07/iran-satellites-and-tomcats.html

i was an instructor rio there for 3 years

this may be true but i'd be doubtful,

"Best available research using non-American sources (as American and IDF-AF sources can be unreliable), have concluded that over 130 Iraqi aircraft were downed (with an additional 23 probable) by Iranian F-14 Tomcats during the Iran-Iraq war; with over forty (40) of these using the AIM-54 Phoenix missile. This means the twenty (20) year air-combat record of the F-15 'Eagle' was exceeded in eight (8) years by the F-14 'Tomcat.' Iranian Tomcats literally faced thousands of Iraqi air strikes. Indeed, Iranian F-14 crews fought in more areal engagements than both the USAF and US-Navy combined during Vietnam"

HokiePilot

pilot
Contributor
Very interesting article but it includes this gem:

"Most (if not all) national security assertions and behavior by the Bush II administration has proven to be an endless series of recklessness and falsehoods."

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk

bunk22

Super *********
pilot
Super Moderator
http://theboresight.blogspot.com/2009/07/iran-satellites-and-tomcats.html

i was an instructor rio there for 3 years

this may be true but i'd be doubtful,