• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Is there any hope of getting into the USAFA with mediocre grades as a freshman in HS?

subsonic raptor

mentally deficient king of the sky.
Hello, i'm a freshman in HS and its my dream to fly fighters with the USAF, and as such I have heard that the USAFA is the best route to do so as they dish out the most pilot slots of any of the options given to become a pilot in the USAF. during the first semester of my HS experience I put up a pretty measly effort, barely passing the 1st semester, this semester Im working my butt off and its gotten my to a cumulative gpa of 3.2 as of now. though I still have the occasional bad grade. my Q to yall is have I already screwed it up? are my chances at My dream college ruined? and if so what are the better options to pursue my dream?

Notanaviator

Contributor
On the other hand, kid has the good sense not to ask Air Force folks for advice ?‍♂️?. Some actual advice would be (feel free to take this with a grain of salt because I fly nothing - but this applies to anything in life): if you've identified a goal, figure out how to make it happen. If you want to go USAFA, search around and figure out what the standard is that you'll need to hit to make it there, and exceed that standard. Need better grades than a 3.2? Work hard at it and get better grades. Need more extracurriculars? Get involved in stuff you're passionate about, and spend time at it, and find ways to demonstrate leadership behaviors.