• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Landing in 0 visibility

Raptor2216

Is there any such thing as doing an instrument landing in low or no visibility on a carrier or do they just ground all flight ops in such bad weather? How many hours of instrument training do you have to complete by the time you are flying jets or by the time you are doing landings on carriers? Is there any difference between the methods and procedures the military uses, which are different from civil aviation? Are all military pilots FAA certified?

Fly Navy

...Great Job!
pilot
Super Moderator
Contributor
That's a decent question for Airwarriors.

As I'm not experienced in carrier ops, I'll let the fleet guys answer...

SuperFly

pilot
I'm not an LSO, and I only have about 150 traps, but I have been on a night straight-in approach (Case III) where I broke out at 1/4 of a mile around 180' feet. If you add the height of the carrier, 40 feet, then it was about 140' feet above the flight deck. Probably somewhere from the IM (in the middle) to IC (in close) position. 200 feet is your typical HAT (height above touchdown) for any precision approach (PAR, ILS) or the "lowest you can go without the runway environment in sight." If you don't, then you have to execute a missed approach.