• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

LORs

Chill314

Hi Guys,

I'm looking for advice regarding LORs. I have been reading on this forum that many applicants for OCS have letters from active officers. My background is academic and as such, most of my letter writers will be professors. Do letters from active officers add much to an application if they will only have the opportunity to "interview" me once before writing? Should I just stick to those who know me well and can speak knowledgeably about my achievements and character? I may have the opportunity to arrange and interview with a retired officer if that would carry any weight.

Any advice is appreciated!

exNavyOffRec

Hi Guys,

I'm looking for advice regarding LORs. I have been reading on this forum that many applicants for OCS have letters from active officers. My background is academic and as such, most of my letter writers will be professors. Do letters from active officers add much to an application if they will only have the opportunity to "interview" me once before writing? Should I just stick to those who know me well and can speak knowledgeably about my achievements and character? I may have the opportunity to arrange and interview with a retired officer if that would carry any weight.

Any advice is appreciated!

most getting officer interviews are active duty, it is required for them, as a civilian you want LOR's from people that have seen you in action and can write about what type of long term performance you have had, either academic or employment.

dmamula