• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Major Preferences

silver236

None
I am currently a sophomore at a junior college in Texas and about to transfer to a four-year university after this upcoming spring semester. I was considering about majoring in Business. My main goal is to become an aviator (in the Navy or Marines). The general notion is that the military prefers technical majors however, I refuse to withstand an extra year of schooling for such major as engineering. In fact, I want to have a "reliable degree" in which I am able to obtain a good paying job in case I don't get selected to become an officer through PLC or BDCP. In short, I have no clue for secondary plan if I don't make it to be a pilot in the military. Any thoughts or suggestions? I'm pretty sure some of you gyus have had the same thought.

SWO Bubba

None
What do YOU want to major in? Do that.

+1. The debate over techincal versus non-technical majors has raged for decades and will continue. As in most debates, the reality is definitely in the middle. Inevitably, you will be introduced to a lot of techincal things in the Navy. However, that doesn't mean you need a technical degree to comprehend how to fly an airplane (or in my case drive a ship). You'll need to know how black boxes work together, but not necessarily what's in the black box. For posterity sake, you could consider taking some technical electives in the realm of physics or electronnics or electrical engineering. Similarly, for technical dudes, I would recommend taking electives in the humanities.

BACONATOR

pilot
Contributor