• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Medical/Background check

DeeDub

Hello,

I am just going to get to the point. I was honorably discharged about 5 years ago after 4 years of service. (During my service time, I received a secret clearance.) Since then I graduated from college, took the ASTB, and was picked up for a couple officer programs. In the last two years I was treated for depression. I did not put it on the application or disclose it at MEPS. I have conquered the illness as part of the overall growing up cycle and do not think it was relevant anymore and it won't be an issue down the line. By the way, I know my opinion does not matter to the military so you need not include such a response to this.

Anyway, I just figured I would roll the dice and hope for the best regarding the background check. What I will acknowledge is that the prevailing thought on this topic in multiple blog sites has been that "they will find out". Maybe that's true, maybe it's not, but I did pick up the secret clearance AFTER a brief stint with depression while enlisted. With that in mind, I'm not sure about how the Doc alliterated it in the mecial record.

I'm certain the results of the background check will come back in the next couple of weeks so one way or another I'll find out my fate on this matter. There is no insurance/doctor/hospital data in my file and there were no other medical obstacles. What are the chances the background check comes back with no problem? Thank you for your response.

feddoc

Really old guy
Contributor
My take on this is to answer all questions truthfully. It's not so much....'will they find out'....as it is.....'I value my integrity too much to piss it away'.