• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Na/nfo,prk

ForsytheJC

I have been reading around the forums for the past few days and have not found a clear answer. Basically im a freshman in college, and I want to be a Marine Aviator. I talked to the OSO here in Florida and i can not be a pilot until i have PRK to correct my vision. He told me i have to be 24 to get this surgery done. He said that i should just do NFO until i am 24 and then apply for a NFO to NA transfer program after i get surgery. From what i have been reading on the forums, most people are saying dont even send the package in until i have PRK.

So basically,
1) I talked to my eye doctor and she said my vision is correctable to 20/20. I dont remember exactly what my vision is but its pretty bad. Is there a cap on how bad it can be even if it can be corrected?
2) Is there much chance on gettting accepted into this program to transfer NFO-NA. Obviously depends on scores, physical tests etc.

I have no problem being an NFO at all, and will gladly do it if this does not work out, I would honestly rather fly the plane myself.

Sorry if this is in wrong thread, i didnt know to put here or in PRK or NFO.

Thanks for any help, I am just trying every available way to be a pilot, and if it doesnt work then NFO it is.

kmac

Coffee Drinker
pilot
Super Moderator
Contributor
Sorry I can't help you here exactly. Have you checked the NOMI website to see what the current policy is for PRK? I am in the Navy and had PRK when I was 21 (while in BDCP).

Slammer2

SNFO Advanced, VT-86 T-39G/N
Contributor
Why do you have to be 24 to get it done? They say that you should be 21 just to make sure that your eyes are done changing.

FastMover

NFO
None