• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Need advice

SetSail

I am a college freshman this fall and am strongly considering applying for the NROTC College Program. Can anyone tell me how competitive it is to earn a 3 year scholarship? Are college allotted a certain number of 3 year scholarships? :confused:Thanks for your help!!!

AUtiger

Crossing over to the dark side
pilot
College program itself is not super competitive to get in to the NROTC unit. All that is required is that you submit the required application to the unit you desire and the CO signs off on it.

Regarding 3 yr scholarships, I have seen everyone get one who had at least a 3.0 GPA and wasn't a total screwup. They are competed for at a national level or they can be awarded by the CO at the unit.

I would recommend getting in touch with the unit you are looking at ASAP as there are caps on enrollment at schools. For example, we have 65 incoming freshman so far and our cap is 70 so there are only 5 slots available.

Good Luck

SWCS242

SWO in-training
I am a college freshman this fall and am strongly considering applying for the NROTC College Program. Can anyone tell me how competitive it is to earn a 3 year scholarship? Are college allotted a certain number of 3 year scholarships? :confused:Thanks for your help!!!

You could also try looking at the BDCP route after 1 or 2 years of college depending on your major. In BDCP you don't have to do all that ROTC stuff during college.

jt71582

How do you fly a Clipper?
pilot
Contributor
You could also try looking at the BDCP route after 1 or 2 years of college depending on your major. In BDCP you don't have to do all that ROTC stuff during college.