• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

need help/advice

6pack

hey I am currently a freshman in college and I have decided that I want to be a pilot in the Marine Corps. Over the summer I have went to MEPS, filled out my PLC-OCS application and took the ASTB. My OSO recently told me that they lost my ASTB scores and that I should go ahead and switch to PLC-ground so I can get accepted to OCS for this summer, and then if they find the scores or after I take the test again he will help me get switched to PLC-air when he can. Is this a good idea or does it sound like he is trying to get his quota filled? I dont want to get screwed and get stuck in ground after OCS. Any information and advice will be greatly appreciated.

e6bflyer

Used to Care
pilot
I am not a Marine, but I have been around the Navy for over a decade, about half enlisted. While your scores may have been honestly lost, I would not take the advice of a recruiter who is obviously using pressure tactics to get you to commit to something you don't want.
It was the same when I joined the Navy. Guys who had crappy ASVAB scores weren't guaranteed an A school, but they were told to go ahead and sign, that they would probably be able to pick up an A school in boot camp. Not one of those guys in my boot camp company got the school, but now they were committed to the life of a deck seaman at least for the next 2 years.
DON'T DO IT unless that is what you want. I would also suggest you talk to other recruiters. If you are hard over on being a Marine, try to go another route.

squeeze

Retired Harrier Dude
pilot
Super Moderator
Contributor