• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

New Guy

Status
Not open for further replies.

4thpage

Hi all! I am totally new to the idea of become a Navy pilot. Well, the idea isn't actually new; I've wanted to fly for the Navy for as long as I can remember. I had always heard the myth that military pilots had to have perfect 20/20 vision. I didn't think I did, so I never seriously considered a Navy career. Upon getting closer to graduation (Bachelor degree in May 2003, 3.5 GPA) and exploring my post-graduate options, I started doing some checking, and found out the truth. Incidentally, I also found out I do have 20/20 vision, so it isn't a problem anyway.

I am hoping someone can/will take the time to start at the beginning and tell me the procedure for becoming a Naval aviator. I've read a great deal in this forum about OCS, etc., but there seems to be a ton of information I do not know anything about.

I have so many questions, it would probably be easiest if someone just told me everything. Do I go through basic training with everyone else, then on to OCS or are there steps in between? Would I know whether or not I was accepted into the aviation program or OCS, or whatever, before joining?...etc. I really do have so many questions.

I'll tell you guys a little about myself. I'm 22 (will be 23 by the time I graduate college this May) and about to finish a Bachelor degree in music. It's much more difficult than it sounds, by-the-way. I have a 3.5 GPA. I have no prior military service, but I'm in good shape.

Well, thanks for everyone's time.

kenjamin17