• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

New to the forum; Applying SNA only

soho

Dear all,

Thanks for taking the time to read my introduction. I have had the desire to be a pilot for as long as I can remember. I was admitted into the Naval Academy but asked by my mother back in 2003 not to attend. I graduated from a top liberal arts school in 2008 with a 3.5 GPA and have been doing medical research since then. I had set my path in the direction of medical school but my heart has been pulling me back towards the notion of being a Naval Aviator.

I'm currently 24 years old and am looking to submit my application as soon as I possibly can. Like I said, I am new to the forum and would appreciate any help along the way. I still have to get in touch with a recruiter and take the ASTB but I am not worried along those fronts.

I do have one concern that I have had mixed responses to from various Flight Surgeons. Over three years ago, I was seen for a brief period of a few months for an eating disorder, urged by my parents, although I denied it and still do. I had gone through a period prior to and following a surgical procedure to remove breast tissue where I was having trouble keeping food down and my family was cautious. This was brief with no occurrences outside of that period. However, I know that my medical records indicate a diagnosis of bulimia. I have not seen anyone since that brief period.

A few flight surgeons have indicated that given that this was during a brief period, that I maintain is symptom free, I should not have a problem with getting a waiver. Others are unsure. Anyone here know of any similar circumstances?

Thanks again for all of your help. I look forward to a bright future in the Navy.

Boomhower