• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

NFO to Navy Dental Corps path

willwash

None
Hello all.

Been a member here since getting picked up for OCS back in 2007, barely ever posted. Always loved the community though.

Just wanted to share some of my career experience in case anyone else was interested in a similar path. Didn't see a forum dedicated to it so this seemed the most appropriate place to post.

I'm currently a LCDR with the Dental Corps and I got here through a highly unconventional path. I majored in political science in college and never took any biology or chemistry. This will be relevant later.

I applied for and went to OCS (Class 13-07) in 2007 with the designator of SNFO. Did the whole shebang, OCS, API, primary, wanted P-3s desperately and didn't get them, ended up selecting E-2s and got my NFO wings in 2009. Assigned to VAW-123 and deployed twice. While some aspects of it were amazing overall it wasn't a great experience or a good fit for me for a variety of complicated reasons and my tour there wasn't exactly stellar. I made CICO and escaped the FNAEB, but left with no NAM, highwater MP, below-RSCA detaching FITREP (though it was at least an EP), and I went to NROTC for my shore duty. I was definitely seemingly on an inescapable path to civilian life, and no mistake. But in the end I managed to hang on to a full career as a naval officer.