• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

NUPOC Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

big

USNA Class of 2008
I'm a college freshman in Las Vegas and I just recently learned about the NUPOC program. I am absolutely intent upon earning a commission in the Navy...I applied to USNA the past two years(got tons of nominations but no appointment, just national waiting list) and received a 4year NROTC scholarship(which I couldn't use because the college it gave me it to - MIT - didn't accept me).

I was just curious how hard it is to get accepted into the NUPOC program? I'm in my third semester, but so far I have a 3.66 GPA(all A's in technical/science courses including Calc1-2, General Chem1-2, etc), am an EE major, member of phi theta kappa(international honor society) etc.

I know I can't apply for the program until after I've also taken a year of calculus based physics, but I will have taken both Eng. Physics 1 and 2 by the end of the Fall 2004 semester. As it is, I just wanted to know some numbers about the process...

i.e. How many apply? How many get accepted? Avg. GPA? What are my chances? etc.

Difficult question to answer I'm sure number wise but any general information would help me a lot!

....Also, when should I contact a recruiter to get the application started? I figured I probably shouldn't until after I take the year of phy, but just curious.

jburnes