• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Push for Global Financial Regulation

Random8145

Contributor
http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=20601087&sid=aPa3d0C4ewdo&refer=home

All this talk of "global" this and that has me concerned, especially with this administration, I do not like the idea of a new global currency as China and Russia are calling for and I do not like the idea of a new global financial regulatory body.

Now I am no expert, but what really is bugging me with this proposal on bringing the hedge funds, private equity firms, and derivatives markets under regulation is:

1) It isn't the private equity firms and hedge funds that are all collapsing and on Capitol Hill with their hands out. Yes, some of the firms are liquidating because they made bad bets on the markets, or panicked investors are pulling out their money, but otherwise, the major private equity firms and hedge-funds are doing okay, or even thriving. The private-equity firms and hedge-funds, the firms so unregulated they have been criticized as being the equivalent of "unregulated banks" by the CEO of PIMCO, Bill Gross, are the ones doing okay overall it seems. Instead, it is the far more heavily-regulated investment banks, banks, mortgage companies, and insurance companies that are in trouble, from all of the major investment banks coming to the point of collapse, to AIG almost going under, etc...

2) The critics are acting as if all these big firms took risks knowingly, with other people's money, and that only if adequate regulation had been there, the government regulators would have seen it and been able to put a stop it.