• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Question about Air Nat. Guard and Reserves?

Status
Not open for further replies.

chelu55

I was talking to a major airline pilot (retired military) and told him my situation of becomming a Navy pilot. Nevertheless, we discussed how competitive it is. He stated to look at the Air National Guard or the Reserves. Does anyone know any information about the two?

Spin

SNA in Meridian
I'm not an expert but Air National Guard and Air Force Res. are really competetive from what I've read.

ben

not missing sand
pilot
Super Moderator
Contributor
ditto - they're REALLY hard to get into from what i've heard.

NavyLonghorn

National Guard is much much harder then going active. You get to be a military pilot without being active.. its a good deal.. everyone wants to do it.

thepilot33

You have to consider a few things about the Air National Guard.
First most, if not all, applications deadlines have past for this year. (FEB-Mid July)
and you have to remember that these pilot slots are not until 2005. The Air Guard works by selecting pilots a year-and-a-half to two years out. Most guard units require you to send in a candidate package with certain info that they request from you. A month or so before they hold interviews they, the board, meet and look through all the candidate packages to selective the ones who they will give interviews too. After the interview the board will selective a certain number of pilots to fill their vacancies and usually a alternate of two. I guess it can be a pretty competitive process. I am two for four with interviews right now. Hawaii and Texas have just given me interviews this month and New York and Illinois shot me down this week. Good Luck!

kevin