• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Questions about the process

Status
Not open for further replies.

SJHipple

Hey everyone,

I just passed my physical to join the USMC...however, I have a couple of questions about getting into flight school and how the whole process works. Please keep in mind that I'm not totally familiar with all the jargon yet.

The way I understand it, after you take the ASTB and PT test, you can apply to OCS...from there, if you get accepted, you go to OCS (I would go this summer since I'm a student). After that, you take the flight physical and after that, apply to flight school. Is that about right?

The reason I want to know is that I had a medical problem when I was younger...I had seizures up to the age of 8. Because of this, I know that it's not too likely that I'll get a waiver to fly (Taxman...perhaps you could give a little guidance here).

My question is...when do I actually sign on the dotted line and make my enlistment for however long it may be? Will I know whether I've been accepted to flight school before I sign up, or do I sign up for 8 years and then hope for the best? I would probably still go in as an officer even without flight school, but I would really prefer not to start out with an 8 year enlistment...maybe 4 years to start out.

My recruiter told me that since I passed MEPS, I'm good to go, but I've heard that the flight physical is going to be harder to pass (especially with my past condition...any help on if that's waiverable would be greatly appreciated). What I don't want to do is sign up for 8 years, go down all ready for flight school and then be disqualified and told to pick something else to do for the next 8 years.