• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Questions for becoming a pilot?

GFTC

pilot
Hi all. I've been reading a lot of the threads here and would like to get a little more info on becoming a pilot for the Navy. My record is clean and phyically I'm good to go. I'll be graduating in Dec. with a degree in General Studies with a GPA of 3.28 (give or take depending on how this semister works out). I'll be 26 in Jan. I've been enlisted in the Air National Guard for 7.5 years, 5.5 years of that has been on active duty. I've been flying for a little over ten years and just finished my IFR check ride. I have close to 200 hrs. of single engine land. I've been to the sandbox a couple times and have quite a few decorations, but nothing higher than an AF Achievement. All of my evals from my supervisors are 4's or 5's (5 is the max.). Lastly, I just started studying for the ASTB. Here are my questions. The recruiter I spoke to said applications are reviewed every third Thursday of every month and the turn around for test scores is about 30 days. With the new fiscal year coming up, and the end of the college semister (ie more people graduating) is there a better or worse time to submit my package? How much does prior flight time factor into things, and should I start working on my twin/complex? I'm assuming I should have a well rounded selection of letters of recommendation (immediate supervisor, commander, college professor, etc.), is this correct? What exactly is the "right" answer they want to see for the portion of the app. were I have to state why I want a commission? If I do get selected for OCS, what can I expect for wait time before I would start my school? This becomes a factor because I've got an opportunity to deploy to Iraq again