• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Questions

shane_o

I'm currently a freshman at Valparaiso University and have recently changed majors from meteorology to history. I've always thought about becoming a pilot, I've been around airplanes and helicopters all my life..I love em.

First off, my eyesight isn't the best. I wear contacts but I'm not sure if my uncorrected eyesight is good enough. I can't remember exact numbers but the power on my contact box says -4.5 for one eye and -5.5 for the other if that means anything at all. Can anyone help point me somewhere where I can get a definitive answer. I'd hate to have this get in the way.

Secondly, could I become a pilot with a history major? Or would it be in my best interest to have a science major like I originally had? Math is not my strong suit and that's why I switched majors. The meteorology classes wouldn't be bad, but for my gpa's sake, the calc classes will kill me..

Just trying to figure out what I want to do with my life right now and any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Shane

Rocky3168

Secondly, could I become a pilot with a history major?

Being selected for SNA/SNFO has nothing to do with your major. I know many engineers who have attrited from flight school and many humnaities majors who are flying hornets now. It all depends on your attitude, the needs of the Navy, and how well you fufill the various requirements that it takes to become a Naval Officer and aviator. It is however, mandatory to take a minimum of 2 semesters of Calculus and 2 semesters of Calculus based physics while in college. PM me with any detailed question. (I was a History major at an engineering school).

Cheers,
Rocky

jamnww

Hangar Four
pilot