• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

reasons for rejection

Status
Not open for further replies.

minnow8a

I have some questions that I was hoping some of you folks might be able to help me with.

I recently applied for an aviator slot with the Navy but was denied. The reasons weren't specific, but I have a graduate degree, about 60 hours of flight time, and a 4.0. However, I'm 26 and I've turned down an NFO position in the past. I'm wondering if these two factors have led to my denial.

Is there an appeal process to find out specifically why I was denied? Also, if I wanted to reapply, what is the best way to go about doing so? I spoke to a professor of mine who was a naval aviator and he mentioned about accepting an NFO position then applying to switch. What's the likelihood of that happening?

Also, I've begun inquiring at other branches as well. The local air force officer recruiter mentioned they were looking for candidates with flight hours in the 300+ region. I know this can't be the overall consensus with all pilot applicants, so I'm wondering if I should go to a recruiter from a different geographic region.

Do any of you have this experience?

Thanks for any the help...

wilsonator

Minnow,