• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Some Questions from a Student.....

alanbrit

Hi, first day on the forum, glad to have found this place.

Here are my questions (and situation)

I am currently a student studying computer engineering/science and I have always wanted to be a marine. I tried to join USMC straight from high school, but they said I couldnt because I was NOT a U.S Citizen :(. I STILL am not, so I decided to just finish school, since all the terrorism b.s all the immigration processing has been lagging like crazy..I still dont know when I will get my citizenship (im here legally though).

Here are my questions:

1.) Say I finish my degree, and I still have not recieved my citizenship, is there anyway to Join the USMC ? (I want to be a officer and get into a InfoSec job (computer security) ) Because I dont want to be wasting my time after graduating..or I could just stay in school forever till I get my citizenship.

*Note: I have 'heard' about many mexican immigrants joining the corps without citizenship...how is this possible if they told me NO?

2.) I know theres tons of things I can do RIGHT NOW (incld being in shape) that will help me in the future..should it ever happen, what would you recommend for a future OCS candidate ? (I heard it was very tough) Any tips ? Anything you wished you have done ? (maybe learn about the corp ? memorize stuff? leadership?)

3.) What are the time of commitment for officers ? Is it 4 years ?