• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

the ever-present vision questions...

LaneyLou

Hi everyone,

I'm finishing up my master's degree and planning on going to OCS once that's done, and I've had some pretty bad experiences with a recruiter. I was hoping someone would be able to clear a few things up for me, please. My buddy (Marine infantry officer) told me that I can go fly with a contact lens waiver. Here's the link:

http://www.nomi.med.navy.mil/Nami/WaiverGuideTopics/pdfs/Waiver Guide - Ophthalmology.pdf

The bottom two tabs are about PRK and the Student Naval Aviator Contact Lens policy. From the way that I am reading this, with my 20/100 correctible to 20/20 with soft contact lens eyes, I don't need to have PRK prior to applying to OCS. Is this true, or only applicable if your vision degrades in flight school? If I can get a contact waiver, should I get the surgery pre-OCS anyway, or just wait and let the Navy pick up the tab? The reason I'm hesitant to get PRK is because I ultimately want to apply to the astronaut program, and I think ANY eye surgery is disqualifying. Is there truth to that?

Thanks!
Laine

LaneyLou

RetreadRand said:
Wow, it is really sad when we have to come up with even more creative ways to tell people to do a search

My apologies if this sounds sarcastic, but if I had found the answer to my specific question in there, I wouldn't have asked... thanks anyway.

Mustang83

Professional back-seat driver
None
Here's my two cents: