• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

The path of a Naval Aviator hopeful

Liquid_Demon

Hello everyone. I'd like to first apologize if this topic is not posted in the correct section. It covers a rather broad ground.

Since this is my first post, I'll introduce myself. I am someone who has just realized over the past couple months that I want to be in the Navy...and in the air. I went through highschool with the military not even being the slightest thought in my mind. I graduated with honors with a 3.65 GPA and gigantic amounts of time spent in dramatic arts related extracurricular activities. After a short break, I began to attend my local college with a focus on theater. And now I want to leave that behind and I am applying to the US Naval Academy.

My biggest concerns now come in here. Firstly, I was not involved in any sports at all in high school. I hear that the Naval Academy will immediately turn down anyone who has not played in a varsity sport, and I'd like to know if anyone of you can confirm this. Secondly, my vision is 20/40. I've read a few posts about what is recquired to become a Naval Fighter Pilot, but there didn't seem to be any sort of straight answer. Can I have surgery done and get a waiver to get in the cockpit? I really don't want to get turned down down the road for bad vision, which is completely out of my control.(EDIT: Question basicly answered after some more browsing)

I also need a backup plan. If I don't get accepted to the Naval Academy, what should be my first step on the path to being a fighter pilot?

I'm going to try to get these questions answered by local recruiters Monday, but I'm a bit weary of them as I've gathered that they tend to bend the truth a bit to fill up needed positions.