• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Thinking about OCS...a lot of factors,please help

Status
Not open for further replies.

theduke420

I have wanted to be OCS since I was a freshman in college. I am about to go into my last year at Rutgers and am seriously considering OCS after I graduate. I have to measure whether or not I get a good job and whether I want to stick with that or enter the marine corps, needless to say it will be difficult, but 1 year out I am already in the mindset of training to be there next summer if I decide to.

I have pretty bad asthma and require medication, but I think in a years time if I run enough I can condition myself and my lungs to be in good enough shape to score well on my PFT. I am a former soccer player and wrestler and although right now I am pretty bulky and muscular (about 189) I have started running on the treadmill just to develop a core so I can begin my 3 miles for time. Right now I am reading every post I can on this forum, talking to marine buddies etc.

My question(s) are this:

Even though my asthma is bad, if I showed that I could handle the physical stress of OCS would they let me go?