• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Thinking of joining up late in life

Antenox

Ok, I'm only 26 (turning 27 this August), so it's not exactly "late" in my life yet, but I would imagine that I'm a few years older than most people when they start considering the military. My first choice is probably Marines, then Navy.

Anyway, I'm pretty sure that at my age, my only option would be OCS, if that's even a possibility at this point (unless there's a grad school option). My background, if it's at all relevant, is that I graduated five years ago from university with a B.S. in electrical engineering, and I've been working as a systems engineer since.

My question is, what's the process (beginning with walking into the recruiting office) for applying to OCS at my age and with my background?

Calculon

It's Calculon! Hit the deck!
At your age, if you're looking into aviation, you're going to have to start applying now, as 27 is the cut off age. Contact your local officer recruiter, and if you don't get a hold of them directly, make sure that you mention you're an engineer and have been one, that will instantly get you attention... and probably a hard sell on going nuke

Uncle Fester

Robot Pimp
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
You're up against the cutoff age for pilot, so if it's something you want to pursue, get on it immediamente. Look at NFO as well; the cutoff age is higher.

Go get ahold of your nearest Officer Recruiter (don't just walk into your nearest strip-mall recruiting office - their job is to get you to enlist). Assuming you don't have any criminal, serious medical (e.g., missing a leg) or citizenship issues, you'll take the ASTB and begin application for OCS.

BigRed389

None