• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Tilt-Prop/Jet ?

revan1013

Death by Snoo Snoo
pilot
http://defensetech.org/2012/01/10/lockheeds-six-engined-vtol-design/

Looks interesting, and the photo is hilarious.

I'm not an engineer, so forgive the noobish question here... but what is the difference between this so-called Tilt-Prop/Jet engine design, and the Tilt-Rotor design of the Osprey? It doesn't look like there's a whole lot of difference, just some symantic distinction.

Maybe they're calling it something else just to see if they can get away with getting a patent.

Brett327

None
Super Moderator
Contributor
Looks like the stated advantage is fewer negative consequences in case of engine failure, as the 6 rotor configuration can compensate in a single engine failure scenario. Also, since the engines aren't mechanially connected to each other, driveshaft or gearbox failures wouldn't result in catastrophic loss of thrust.

Brett

Jim123

DD-214 in hand and I'm gonna party like it's 1998
pilot
I used to work in a patent office. Over several months I probably saw several thousand patent applications (usually for about a minute each; my job description was pretty narrow so that's just how it worked out). It's fairly commonplace for some big companies to file for a patent for nearly every single specific, narrow, new idea they get (including new ways of using something that already exists), especially if somebody else can easily copy that idea. Multiply that by a lot of ideas... You oughtta see some of the different schemes out there for getting oil out of the ground!