• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Try this for unusual...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grunt

Hi there folks. This is my first time visiting your site and it looks good, by the way.

Here's the unusual bit. I am a former US Army Infantry officer who left nearly two years ago as a Captain (O-3 for those of you who don't speak Army) with four years of service. I am just starting to look into taking a shot at Naval Aviation as I wanted to do growing up. I wouldn't imagine you see that too often. Any pointers from those of you who have been there and done that would be most appreciated.

Mike the Grunt

Jeff29

Science Project
I'm guessing that this would make you at least 28 years old. For pilot, the age limit is 27, but there is a waiver up to 31 which your prior service would qualify you for. I'm 29 and had to get this same waiver.

If you have solid FITREPs, can get a couple good letters of recommendation, and can do well on the ASTB, I'd say you have a good shot.

An active member of this board, Dave Shutter, did exactly what you are talking about doing (although he was enlisted) and is currently at OCS.

Most importantly, you'd have to be willing to wear uniforms that actually look good.

-Jeff

Edited by - Jeffrey Bennion on 01/09/2002 01:16:07

Grunt

Jeff, thanks for the info. Actually, I was one of the younger folks in my year group and I'm still 27. I guess I'd better get cracking on this. I have been planning on calling the number to the officer recruiters I found on the navyjobs.com website this week. If anyone here knows of a better route, I'd love to hear about it.