• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Want to fly....Bad....?

cavpilot58d

Hello and greetings. Let me tell you about how I became a pilot and hopefully I will be able to help you. I will be brief and if you have any questions, either e-mail me or PM me. If it could help anyone else, I will post it.

We all have had the dream to fly and I can say that here I am 35 years old, failed my flight physical, YET I AM a pilot. I grew up in Tuskegee, AL and of course met plenty of Tuskegee Airmen (I have a uncle who is a decorated Tuskegee Airmen and retired Lt Col). My first flight was with Chief Alfred Anderson (read the story about how he became a pilot), the African American who took Eleanor Roosevelt on a flight which helped begin open the door for minority aviators. Ever since that flight, I always wanted to fly, but my parents didn't have the money.
I got older, went to college, drank, partied, chased women and after 3 years of wasting my time, I decided I needed a little direction and joined the Air Force as a crewchief. My plan was to work my way up to become a flying crew dog, then a flight engineer while I finished my degree. Once I finished, I planned to apply for OTS, get a pilot slot and compete for fighters. However, life at that point had other plans. I went through a divorce (not ashamed to publicly admit it) and during that time, my mother died. I actually gave up being a crew chief to take an assignment at a base that was close to home to be with her last year of life. After that, there was no way I was mentally ready to complete my degree. By the time I got myself together, I wouldn't be able to complete my degree in time.