• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Advice on improving my odds of getting a pilot slot

jtellez

I'm currently a 4/C MIDN at VMI. I'm contracted with the Navy and I want to get a pilot slot. I know I'm only in my first year of NROTC, but I want to do everything I can be competitive for a pilot slot. From what I have read so far, it seems that to be competitive I have to have a high GPA, high PRT scores, do well on the ASTB, and participate in the MIDN battalion at my school. I'm also going to talk to my NROTC class advisor and aviation representative to see what I can do.

So far I been doing my best to keep my grades high (3.96), improving my PRT scores (my run time and curl ups are pretty good but my pushups need more work), I have read up on the ASTB but since I'm not taking it this year or anytime soon, I have focused more on my grades, and I participate in everything the MIDN batallion does at my school.

Basically I am wondering if there are any tips or advice that anyone who has gotten a pilot slot can give me to make myself more competitive to get a pilot slot. Thank you for all your help, this board has been immensly helpful.

MIDNJAC

is clara ship
pilot
sounds like you have a pretty good grasp on the factors involved. Keep working hard....sorry if this answer is not more enlightening, but there is no black magic out there that will get you selected. Although maybe putting SWO as your first choice during service selection might up your odds a little bit :)