• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

AF, NAVY or AIRLINES? question about disability too

Status
Not open for further replies.

Piperpilot2004

hey everyone I am new here and this seems like a great site. Got a question that I am sure is frequently asked so sorry if it was. I am 17, still in H.S and almost at my PPL-taking my checkride soon. I have realized this is something I want to do for a living. I have for as long as I can remember. I also have always wanted to serve my country so I thought I should put both together and fly for the military some day-possibly. I know how competitive it is to get pilot slots, and know fully how to get there. My question is, which branch is the easiest to get a slot for? I have heard that its harder in the AF because of the AFOQT(I suck at tests, did horrible on ACT/SAT which I know is similiar..) But yeah taking tests has always been my weakness unfortunately, but Navy I know they like to see someone they know in your family in the Navy and I dont have anyone. On the other hand I dont know if I should just try to make it to the airlines and then go do w/e for the ANG? Any suggestions? Lastly, I was found to have a mild learning disability when I was young.(I average about a 3.0gpa) I dont know if I still have it, but will this screw me over? Be honest please. I would rather find this out now! Im not sure either if I want to go to the Airlines cuz I dont want to be in debt for the rest of my life or ask my parents to pay for that, or not get picked up by anyone.

not sure if anyone can answer this since no one has gone all services and airlines, but any suggestions? :icon_wink

KBayDog

Suggestion - focus on college first, whether you want to serve in the military or the 1st Civ Div.