• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

An Aspiring Pilot

Jonder

Hello,

Well, I have recently done a pretty massive amount of research on the subject on becoming a pilot. I haven't decided if I would rather like to fly helos or jets yet, but I am almost 80% positive that I would like to fly in the Navy.

Some information about me thus far, I am a sophomore in High School and I was thinking what I should try to now focus to do with my life. I couldn't get away from my joy of flying and my past experience with it, so I decided to do a few google searches bringing me to this forum, where I have been trying to get the most information of the process as I could. I do very well in school and do limited amounts of extra activities, which I have been striving to fix as of recently.

Anyway, to my questions:

1.) Is it better to go through the USNA or the NROTC?

2.) What is some advice for getting leadership experience outside of school clubs and school teams? (The reason I ask this is because I have noticed that many describe the selection process to be very competitive and I worry that I might not make it.)

3.) For the above methods I have chosen to pursue, USNA and NROTC, what tends to be at least to minimum to achieve to use that as a basis of where I stand at the moment? (Basically in what ways are they competitive.)

4.) Does anyone else have any more advice that feel could be helpful, like is their an easier way then USNA and or NROTC?