• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Bioengineering? What do you guys think?

Shishka

Intro: I'm a college freshman trying to get my major figured out. I originally planned on Mechanical Engineering, but now I'm thinking about Bioengineering. My goal is to become a naval aviator (Navy or Marines, don't ask me which :confused:) so I'm trying to figure out some things in regards to an aviator's career or options with a Bioengineering degree.

Bioengineering is a pretty new degree, so I doubt lot of you guys have one or know someone who has one (I could be wrong). But I have a couple questions.

1. Would having a bioengineering degree vs. mechanical or aerospace engineering degree put you into a lower "tier" when applying for things like test pilot school or other "technical" tours (that require, or recommend, an engineering degree). In other words, if they had a guy with a MechE Degree and a guy with a BioE degree and the same credentials, would the guy with the MechE degree get picked? Or is it arbitrary what engineering degree you have as long as it says engineering?

2. Is bioengineering considered a technical degree for BDCP?

Thanks,
Cole

Uncle Fester

Robot Pimp
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
I don't know about BDCP, but I do know that trying to pick your major based on what TPS wants - when you're a college freshman - is a bit silly. You're a loooooong way from that point in your life, you have no idea if you're even going to get into the Navy. Or get your wings. Or would even be interested in TPS once you learn it's not The Right Stuff shit anymore (if it ever was).